Brecon Beacons, Wales

Ysgyryd Fawr, Abergavenny
Monmouthshire & Brecon Canal, Abergavenny
Abergavenny Castle
Abergavenny Castle Ruins
Sugar Loaf from Abergavenny Castle
Sugar Loaf, Abergavenny
Black Mountains, Abergavenny
Crug Hywel, Crickhowell
Fany Y Big, Brecon
Pen y Fan & Corn Ddu, Brecon
Corn Ddu from Y Gyrn, Brecon
Fan Fawr from Y Gyrn, Brecon

It's a futile task to name a national park that contains no less than four mountain ranges within its boundaries. Choosing its central range, the Brecon Beacons (they get called the central Beacons these days for obvious reasons) does work to an extent, even they are higher than the likes of the Fforest Fawr, Black Mountains and Black Mountain. There is a wide variety of walking here, and I have only just about scratched the surface. Until November 2006 when I walked among the central Beacons, my visits to the park centred around Abergavenny with an ascent of Sugar Loaf and a stroll by the Brecon and Monmouth Canal being the targets of my attentions. As ever, I hope to see more...